Delaware School Board Elections

Delaware School Board Elections



Any open polling place within the school district
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 - 7:00am to 8:00pm

School Board Elections. Contested races exist and elections will be held in:

    • New Castle County - Appoqunimink, Brandywine, Christina, and Red Clay Consolidated school districts
    • Kent County - Caesar Rodney, Capital and Milford school districts
    • Sussex - Laurel and Woodbridge school districts, as well as nominating district 4 of the Indian River school district.

Update: due to a candidate withdrawals in Christina and Brandywine districts, there was only one candidate for each open seat in those districts. No elections were held in Christina or Brandywine districts after all.

Polls open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Any citizen residing in the district can vote for the school board; no previous voter registration is required. 

This election was rescheduled from May 12, 2020 as part of Delaware's emergency response measures for the outbreak of coronavirus (COVID-19).

Voters can use the voter portal to request absentee ballots online, or can fill out forms electronically at Voters should select the “sick” or “physically disabled” reason codes when requesting absentee ballots for quarantine or social distancing reasons.

VOTE411 coverage of the Delaware school board candidates "went live" on May 4, 2020.